Change

I woke up today almost the same time as yesterday. This month of July, I work from 3 p.m. to 11 p.m. and I usually get home around 11:30 p.m.  My job requires me to be in a shifting schedule that changes every new moon (just kidding).  At least, the change in schedule is not a weekly thing.

Permanency is something that I did not experience growing up, the reason that I don’t like change so much, although the frequent change made me quite an adaptable person now.  At work, change in schedule is the only predictable thing just like my life as a child. Do you think that I’m used to that? I guess so. Even how much I hate change, I had to embrace it somehow.  It took me several years to be open to change. I struggled with change my entire life and now I have to live with it and make it work for me.  Change is one thing in life that we do not have absolute control of.

I do have interests that I would like to pursue and because I don’t have control of my work schedule, I needed to work on things that matter most for me than attempt to do everything on my list; the reason that I decided to follow a little routine that is also quite flexible, that way, I have control of my time.

I love to run, but unlike other people who have a more fixed work schedule, I don’t have the leisure of time to run in an oval or on the road early in the morning or evening or on weekends.  To get rid of my excuse of not having the time, I signed up for a gym membership to have access to a treadmill. At least, the gym is open from 7 am to 9 pm. I can run on the treadmill anytime even when I’m in the night shift.

Going to the gym regularly is something that I learned to love to do to prepare me for a marathon and to keep me fit.  That is why I wake up almost the same time every day since I am in the 3 pm to 11 pm shift. I value my health so in order to keep me fit and healthy, I need to exercise regularly (and of course eat sensibly). I run for fun and for health.

It is not actually the exact time that matters.  It is getting at least 5-6 hours sleep at night or day, depending on my shift, so that I can wake up refreshed and do the things that I needed and wanted to do.

It is not time management that gives us a quality life, but more on life management.  It is knowing our values and principles and giving priority to what matters most in life that counts.  Time management is just a tool to schedule our priorities.

Dealing with change on a day to day basis is quite a challenge. I guess going through and embracing change however difficult, painful, inconvenient it may seem is the only way to make us grow and make us better people. Change is a wonderful thing. Now, I’ve already learned to appreciate how amazing change can do in our lives.

“When we are no longer able to change a situation, we are challenged to change ourselves.” Victor Frankl

About Penchie

I am a type 2 diabetic. I run to keep my blood sugars in good control in conjunction with diet and medical regimen. The running bug got me in 2010. Since I laced up my running shoes, I’ve been an on-road runner, albeit with several months of hiatus in the last 2 years. After almost 7 years of on-road racing, like any other runner, I want to take my running into another level by going off road. I would like to see myself doing ultra marathons, both on and off road, in the future. Running is my lifestyle. I am a runner and a diabetes warrior.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

