35th Milo Marathon Elimination…Will I Set A New PR for 21K?

The Milo Marathon, I believe, is the most awaited event in the running community here in the Philippines. Every year, runners of all skills and levels flock to registration sites just to be part of this prestigious running event. Being a runner, I also wanted to be part of the Milo Marathon. I’m quite new to the running community, having debuted into running only last year at the NatGeo Run where I ran (err…walked and ran) 3k.

Last year, my friends and I registered for the 5k distance in the 34th Milo Marathon Eliminations; however, we were not able to really run throughout the race because runners and walkers were all over the road that it was almost impossible to run through the thick crowd of people. In fact, we were not able to finish the race. We got lost in the crowd! We did not know where the finish line was! The race, at least, in the 5k category was a disaster!

This year, I have a reason to be excited about the Milo Marathon, not only because this year marks its 35th year, but Runrio is organizing this event. As the running community knows, Runrio is the best when it comes to organizing running events. I am sure that the race will be well organized and orderly unlike last year. Another reason why I am excited to join this event is because I will be running 21k, not 5k. Since I got into running in April 2010, I already ran at least four 21k’s, the last one being just last Sunday at the Rexona Adventure Run where I clocked 2:39, so far my personal best in the 21k category.

Will I be able to beat the 2:30 cut-off time set for 21k at the 35th Milo Marathon Eliminations and set a new PR? That remains to be seen, but I do hope that I will. I thought it was impossible to shave 20 minutes off my time in last month’s half marathon where I finished in 3 hours, but the race last Sunday proved that it is possible. I did it. I clocked 2:39. With proper pacing, I hope that I will be able to get my 21k finisher’s medal at goal time of 2:30 or even less.

Good luck to me and to all runners who are participating in the 35th Milo Marathon Eliminations!

About Penchie

I am a type 2 diabetic. I run to keep my blood sugars in good control in conjunction with diet and medical regimen. The running bug got me in 2010. Since I laced up my running shoes, I’ve been an on-road runner, albeit with several months of hiatus in the last 2 years. After almost 7 years of on-road racing, like any other runner, I want to take my running into another level by going off road. I would like to see myself doing ultra marathons, both on and off road, in the future. Running is my lifestyle. I am a runner and a diabetes warrior.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 35th Milo Marathon Elimination…Will I Set A New PR for 21K?

  1. icedgreens says:

    How was your 21K? I hope you’re in the pics that I’ve taken 🙂 Please do check http://www.facebook.com/ph.ryan

Leave a Reply

