Ran the Half…Went Home Full.

July 24, 2011, 5:00 a.m. I ran 21k at the Rexona Adventure Run. It’s not my first time to run this distance. After my first half marathon in October 2010 at the Adidas King of the Road, I lagged on my training. Actually, I sort of stopped training altogether. Finally, after a few months of hiatus, I decided to run again. I got a knee injury when I ran the half marathon last March, the injury I attributed to lack of training and going too fast too soon. The injury this time forced me to stop running (again!). However, after my knee injury got a little better, I decided to go back to training again. Work schedule has always been my problem. However, I thought that there will no more excuses for me this time for not training. I just took it slow. I walked more every day. And as if by miracle, I had the opportunity to run 10k’s in races for free. Those races I consider my “long run.” 🙂 I continued to run slowly and regularly, and after a month or so of doing that, I did 21k last June at the AKTV Run (I got the race kit for free!). I did not do well in that run. I clocked 3:02, my slowest half marathon time.

Last Sunday, I was able to beat that 3:02. I was aiming for 2:30. I only had 1.5 months of training after the injuries, but I have to try. The run was more mental than physical this time. My legs are okay now and my breathing better so I thought there should be no more problem for me in this race. I run at an easy pace. Between the 4k to 5k mark, I happen to run along Banjo, a marathoner from Adination of Alabang (ANR). He was my accidental pacer who ran and paced with me all throughout the race. We stopped every hydration station, walked a little bit going up the flyover, and ran at a relatively maintained paced all throughout finish.

I did it! 2:39!

At the 12k mark, I felt tired, not so tired, but I was really tempted to stop and walk. Told Banjo to go ahead, but he pushed me to go on a little bit further. We did not stop. We just continued running at a maintained pace. Banjo kept telling me, “Kaya pa yan, Pench.” So we ran and ran. We finished strong at 2:39. I shaved 20 minutes off my time from the last 21k that I did just over a month ago. I have a new PR! My heartfelt thanks goes to Banjo who made it possible for me to beat my time.

Tired but happy, I collected my finisher’s kit and loot bag. As usual, the loot bag is full of goodies – canned tuna, sachets of shampoo and conditioner, deodorant sticks, bottle of water and Powerade, etc. Excitedly, I went to meet with Vivs and Idol Red who were waiting for me just outside Fitness First. I found them sitting on the pavement. Proudly, I told them that I finished at 2:39, a few minutes short my goal time, but I could not complain. I did great in that race considering I shaved 20 minutes off my time.

21K Finishers Vivs, me and Idol Red

We took some pictures of ourselves, freshened up a bit, then went to find a place to eat. We ended up at KFC and ate like a glutton! As usual, it was eating and bonding time after the race. A little catching up with each other over hot, spicy, and juicy KFC chicken. We just ran 21k, burned approximately 1666 calories, so we have the right to eat to the max!

I ran the half…then I went home full.

About Penchie

I am a type 2 diabetic. I run to keep my blood sugars in good control in conjunction with diet and medical regimen. The running bug got me in 2010. Since I laced up my running shoes, I’ve been an on-road runner, albeit with several months of hiatus in the last 2 years. After almost 7 years of on-road racing, like any other runner, I want to take my running into another level by going off road. I would like to see myself doing ultra marathons, both on and off road, in the future. Running is my lifestyle. I am a runner and a diabetes warrior.
This entry was posted in running with friends and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

