The Reason Why I Run

What I Thought I Can’t Do. I am 40 years old and I just got into running 1-1/2 years ago. I have never been the athletic type. In fact, I was never into sports since I was younger. I used to believe that I had bad knees and that I could not do sports. Well, that was my excuse then for not getting into sports. I guess everyone has his or her excuses for not doing something, in my case sports particularly running.

As I have said, I believed that I have bad knees. I do not know where I got that idea from since all my physical exams since I was a kid revealed no evidence that I have weak or bad knees. In fact, I have always been physically healthy and fit to do just about anything, and I think that includes sports. I was active in the dance troupe and ballet since I was younger. Again, that will give you an idea that I have strong knees in contrast to what I self-proclaim and believe about my knees in particular.

Fear Factor. Believe it or not, since I got into running, my life has changed…for the better. However, before that happened, my life was different. I started with a wrong belief about myself, especially with what I can be and can do. Unconsciously, I believe that I am a “weak” person and that the “weak knees” was obviously just an excuse. It was a pretty good excuse for me not to try anything out of the ordinary or not to go out of my comfort zone.

Fear may have been the underlying factor for my aversion to sports or running in particular. Perhaps, it must have been fear for failure, failure of not meeting the high expectations of others, or even myself. Or worse, fear of success. Fear that if I excel, I will have to make a lot of sacrifices to be able to maintain my “status”. As you can see, my being strong or weak or turning out as a failure or a success is just all in the mind.

Be-Do-Have: What I wanted to be, what I needed to do, and what I wanted to have. I wanted to change all my false beliefs about myself. I do not want to live in fear anymore. I wanted to take a grip of my fear and deal with it.

Being a strong person not only means having physical strength. The strength of a person encompasses not only the body, but also the mind and spirit. I wanted to defy the limits that I had imposed on myself.

It was time for me to take charge of my life, time for me to change from being a weak person to becoming a strong person…body, mind and spirit. I know that it is going to take time and a lot of work, so I needed to start small. I started with my “weak knees”.

As I said, I was never the athletic type. Taking the first step was painfully difficult specially when you are 40, sedentary and a little overweight. Now, I am stronger (and faster) than I was more than a year ago. Not only I am able to run 3k’s, but I am able to run 21k’s.  In fact, I was able to run 5 half marathons in my 1-1/2 years into running with the most recent two 21k’s done last July 2011, just a week apart from each other. Hopefully, I will be able to do my first marathon before the year ends. Some people would probably say that getting into running at 40 is too late. It’s not true. It may be difficult at first, but it is possible.

Now, I am not only strong (and fast) physically, I also got rid of my excess weight and got healthier, I have expanded my social network and gained new friends as well. That is nice to know, right?

The reason I run. I got into running because of my desire to change myself, to become a better person bigger than myself, to become a strong, healthy, positive and a well-balanced person. For me running is about defying limits, making the impossible nothing by just doing it.

To put that all together in one sentence why I got into running and why I run is: To be the best that I can be.

I am still a work in progress, and I definitely get better and better everyday.

“What the mind can conceive, the body can achieve.” Napoleon Hill

See you on the road!

PS
Just a few weeks back, my runner friends and I organized a runners club at work. Now, I lead a small group of runners and I run with them at least once every week. It’s feels good to help other people take their first step into running and seeing their progress as the weeks go by. Now, how’s that for becoming bigger than myself? 🙂

About Penchie

I am a type 2 diabetic. I run to keep my blood sugars in good control in conjunction with diet and medical regimen. The running bug got me in 2010. Since I laced up my running shoes, I’ve been an on-road runner, albeit with several months of hiatus in the last 2 years. After almost 7 years of on-road racing, like any other runner, I want to take my running into another level by going off road. I would like to see myself doing ultra marathons, both on and off road, in the future. Running is my lifestyle. I am a runner and a diabetes warrior.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

