35th Milo Marathon Finals: To Run or Not to Run?

To run or not to run in the 35th Milo Marathon Finals, that is the question.

I have had a quite long hiatus from running. I used to regularly run at least 20k a week either alone or with some friends. However, just last August, I slowed down from my training. Well, I actually stopped altogether. My excuse was, as usual, work schedule.

Last week, I went back to running again. Well, it was not purely running. I ran and walked with 2 of my dear friends, Ash and Sol. We have not seen each other in quite a long while so it was an opportune time for us to catch up with each other (and catch our breaths too!). We managed to cover at least 7k in almost an hour’s time. Not that bad considering that we walked though briskly most of the distance. The 3 of us are running enthusiasts, but due to our work schedules, running has been put aside. I know, I know. There should be no excuse for not training if one intends to run in a race. Being untrained is a recipe for injury, whether one is running a marathon, a half marathon or even a 3k.

As I go back to running again and prepare to run my 5th 21k for this year, I asked myself whether it will be sane for me to run a half marathon with more less than 3 weeks of training? Although I have been a runner for at least 2 years, considering the hiatus of at least 3 months of not running, will I be prepared enough to run such a long distance? That question will be answered when I cross the finish line come December 11.

And so for the question to run or not to run…the answer is: To Run!

About Penchie

I am a type 2 diabetic. I run to keep my blood sugars in good control in conjunction with diet and medical regimen. The running bug got me in 2010. Since I laced up my running shoes, I’ve been an on-road runner, albeit with several months of hiatus in the last 2 years. After almost 7 years of on-road racing, like any other runner, I want to take my running into another level by going off road. I would like to see myself doing ultra marathons, both on and off road, in the future. Running is my lifestyle. I am a runner and a diabetes warrior.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

