We Ran…Nike Run Manila 2012

nikeIt was my first time to run at a Nike Running event and I was excited.

I came to register early and claim my race packet on the first day of distribution so I didn’t have any problem with the registration nor the claiming of race packets.  It pays to be an early bird.  However, come race day, I was not that early for the race.

I did not have any problem with the baggage deposit.  RunRio alloted more than enough baggage counters as well as people manning each counter.

The race started about 10 minutes late.  However, since there were so many runners, almost 14,000 all in all, and since my friend and I joined the pack just in time for the supposed to be gun time, we were forced to stay at the back of the pack to join the second wave of runners.   We were able to run 15 minutes after the first wave kicked off.

I was aiming for a sub-60; however, with the huge crowd ahead of me, runners and walkers everywhere, it was hard for me to run at my planned pace.  Some runners still do not know the proper etiquette of running.  They just run wherever they want, stop whenever they like either to pose for a picture or to recover without regard to runners behind them.  I tried to stay on the fast lane, that is, the right lane; however, fast and slow runners occupied the whole lane.  I was actually frustrated; however, with running along people of all fitness, abilities and training, I said to myself, I might just run and have fun, never mind the PR…and so I ran…and walked some.  (I wonder if in the future they could place a fast lane and a slow lane along the route?)

Water and Powerade were aplenty, so I was well hydrated throughout the race.

The route was familiar as I ran in this route once, a relatively flat course though not my favorite, but it was okay.  I just noticed that there were few kilometer markers along the route.

The weather was fine.  It looked like it was going to rain, but it didn’t.

Good to know that there were few if not zero bandits who ran during the race.  The Macapagal road became an ocean of black.

I finished strong…clocked 1:14 (unofficially) despite my trip to the loo to pee and frequent unplanned walk breaks.

I took me about 10 seconds to get my finisher’s shirt, which I love.  They gave me my correct size so I’m happy.

Baggage claim? Hassle-free.

Overall, I had a great time even if it looked like I was doing a 10-k long fartlek.

Congratulations, Coach Rio, for another well-organized event.

About Penchie

I am a type 2 diabetic. I run to keep my blood sugars in good control in conjunction with diet and medical regimen. The running bug got me in 2010. Since I laced up my running shoes, I’ve been an on-road runner, albeit with several months of hiatus in the last 2 years. After almost 7 years of on-road racing, like any other runner, I want to take my running into another level by going off road. I would like to see myself doing ultra marathons, both on and off road, in the future. Running is my lifestyle. I am a runner and a diabetes warrior.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

