Running Alone

I run mostly alone lately.  This morning I decided to do an early morning run. I was hoping I would be joined by someone I expected to run along with me, but he was a no-show, so I went to run by myself.

One of my favorite routes now is Coastal to CCP or even up to Km Zero if I intend to run a longer distance.  Today, I chose a shorter route, about 8k.  It was a quite gloomy morning, quite a bit downcast, the sun hidden by thick rain clouds.  It looked like it was going to rain, but it didn’t, to my relief. The air was cool and it was really quite relaxing to run in a weather like this.  The trees seemed to dance in the wind to my entertainment as I ran past them on the way to CCP.

As I slowly built up my pace, the heaviness that I felt in my heart (charing!) started to disappear.  Each step seemed to have lighten the “burden” that I was carrying.  It felt liberating.

Image

Once I reached CCP, I decided to deal with the ramp.  I ran up and down the ramp at least 8 times.  On the 8th time, I stopped counting and I just ran up and down until my calves and butt started to burn.  It was tiring, but worth the workout.  The heaviness in my chest completely disappeared by the nth time I ran up and down the ramp, that is why I run because running clears my mind and empties myself out of bottled up emotions.

When I felt that I had loaded up enough endorphins, I decided to run back to MOA where I would take a ride going home.  However, along the way, when I passed by another ramp, I decided to do some more hill repeats as if I hadn’t had enough of hills already though I was careful not to overdo it to prevent delayed muscle soreness or even injury.

Image

Yes, I wish I had run along with someone whom I can talk to while running; however, I was never really actually alone. I was with myself…and probably it was the only thing that I needed that morning to sort things out and clear my mind from nagging thoughts and empty  my heart from pent up emotions.

I will be back to run again tomorrow to do a longer run…with or without a running buddy.  And this thought came to my mind:

Running is not a lonely sport.  Sometimes some people are just lonely that is why they run to deal with the loneliness.

Well, that’s me included… I run when I feel lonely sometimes.

About Penchie

I am a type 2 diabetic. I run to keep my blood sugars in good control in conjunction with diet and medical regimen. The running bug got me in 2010. Since I laced up my running shoes, I’ve been an on-road runner, albeit with several months of hiatus in the last 2 years. After almost 7 years of on-road racing, like any other runner, I want to take my running into another level by going off road. I would like to see myself doing ultra marathons, both on and off road, in the future. Running is my lifestyle. I am a runner and a diabetes warrior.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running Alone

  1. joseasanoj says:

    Good Post
    Sanoj Jose(Author, My Day Out With An Angel)

Leave a Reply

